White Coat Ceremony Welcomes Class of 2020

The School of Pharmacy held its 2016 annual White Coat Ceremony in September and welcomed the class of 2020 and into the profession of pharmacy.   At this solemn ceremony, the class received their white coats, school pins and recited the Oath of a Pharmacist for the first time in public.  

Debra Hauser  ’90 delivered the keynote address, entitled“Welcome Temple Class of 2020: Diamonds in the Rough.”  Ms. Hauser was honored with the 2016 Distinguished Pharmacist Practitioner Award for her accomplishments within the pharmacy profession.  Michael Ruane ‘17, was awarded the 2016 Pharmacy Student Health Care Professional Award, for his leadership in academics and professional organizations.   Gilbert W. Rudman, Esq. ‘68, President, TUSP, Alumni Association, administered the Oath of the Pharmacist. 

Alumni and friends who served as cloakers include:   Jeneane Acker, ’11, Judith Arnoff ‘68, Amelia Batastini ’59, Paul Batastini, Francis Berenato, ’82,Erin Bettine ‘83, Frank Breve, ’81, Mel Brodsky ‘66, Michael Borenstein, ’79, Ina Calligaro, Mollie Kidorf-Fisch, ’56, Irv Gibbs, ’65, Debra Hauser, ’90, Larry Kraft, ’79, Bruce LaPorte, ’79, Edward McGinley, ’77, Paul Mudrick ‘60,  Richard Pacitti, ’72, Gregory Papa ‘75, Sejal Patel ‘08, Mirza Perez, Jeanie Ruane, ’81, Michael Ruane, ’82, Michael Ruane, ’17, Frank A. Rubino, Sr. ’63, Frank R. Rubino ‘86, Gilbert Rudman ’68, Lew Schwarz, ’56,  Mathew Slakoper ’81, Leigh Webber and
MariLou Watson ’91.   

A reception, sponsored by ACME/Savon, CVS, RiteAid Corporation, and the Philadelphia Association of Retail Druggists, followed the ceremony.   The School of Pharmacy Alumni Association gifted each incoming student with a reusable water bottle and Eric Pusey, ‘82 of The Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association presented each student with a bookmark.