Call for Nominations: 2020 Sprowls Lecture Award

Submit your 2020 Sprowls Lecture Award nominee here.


In the spirit of service, the Temple University School of Pharmacy Alumni Association, with support from Temple University School of Pharmacy (TUSP), honors Joseph B. Sprowls every year by hosting a lecture and presenting an award in his name to an outstanding individual who has achieved recognition within pharmacy for significant contributions to the profession as a distinguished practitioner, scientist, and/or education
Dr. Sprowls came to TUSP as a professor of pharmacy in 1948 and then served as dean from 1950-1967. For more than three decades, Dr. Sprowls devoted himself to pharmacy education and advocacy. He taught and/or led the pharmacy programs at University of Colorado, University of Buffalo, Temple University, and University of Texas at Austin; authored essential texts and articles, including American Pharmacy; and held volunteer positions at the American College of Apothecaries and the Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association among others. 
Dr. Sprowls received a citation from the U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare for service on the National Advisory Council on Education for the Health Professions and an Award of Merit from the American Cancer Society. In 1970, Dr. Sprowls was named the first-ever honorary president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.
Please take the opportunity to nominate a fellow TUSP alum for the 2020 Sprowls Lecture Award by completing and submitting this form by Nov. 1.

Past Awardees by Year

1984 John Autian ‘50
1985 Charles Kumkumian ‘44
1987 Samuel Elkin ‘42
1988 Joseph V. Swintovsky ‘48
1989 R. Paul Baumgartner Jr. 
1991 Theodore Sokoloski ‘55
1992 Irwin Gibbs ‘65
1993 Pauline Montgomery ‘50
1994 George McCormick ‘67
1995 Geoffery Levine ‘65
1996 Frank Tiano ‘65
1997 Charlene Gallagher ‘74
1998 Lawerence Lesko ‘67
1999 Grady Grant III ‘80
2000 Michael Cohen ‘68
2001 Ronald Clerico ‘80
2002 Frank Nice ‘67
2003 Thomas Deets ‘72
2004 Joesph Turi ‘63
2005 Shelia Connor ’79 
2006 Gary Buehler ‘69
2007 Bruce Livengood ‘72
2008 Michael S. Wolf ‘76
2009 Richard A. Palombo ’79 
2010 Loretta Brickman ’63
2011 Roland N. Dickerson,’79 
2012 Dr. Patrick P. DeLuca, ’57
2013 RADM Scott Giberson ’93
2014 Marilou Watson, ’91
2015 Lonnie Moulder ’80
2016 Robert Frankil ‘85
2017 Edward McGinley ’77
2018 Cynthia Reilly ’97 
2019 Ed Casey '88