TUSP Will Host Research Recognition Day on April 12

Temple University School of Pharmacy will host Research Recognition Day on Friday, April 12, 2019 at 12:30 p.m at TUSP. Research Recognition Day celebrates the research accomplishments of TUSP graduate and professional students and Temple University College of Science and Technology undergraduate students who work with TUSP faculty mentors. The program includes a keynote lecture, poster presentation, reception, and an awards ceremony.


The keynote speaker is Gene Morse, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS, a SUNY Distinguished Professor at the University at Buffalo (UB) School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences and an internationally regarded NIH-funded antiretroviral researcher. Dr. Morse has been engaged in HIV drug development and translational research for over three decades with a more recent focus on hepatitis C virus (HCV).


Dr. Morse is the recipient of numerous awards in the field including the 2012 Volwiler award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. He leads several prominent research groups including the SUNY Global Health Institute, the UB Center for Global Biomedical Sciences, the UB HIV and HCV Clinical Pharmacology Laboratory, and the AIDS Clinical Trials Group Network’s Clinical Pharmacology Core. He is also a Principal Investigator for the NIH Fogarty International Center HIV Research Training Program with the University of Zimbabwe.


The Research Recognition Day Committee includes faculty members, Drs. Margaret Miklich (co-chair), Van Hellerslia (co-chair), Ken Korzekwa, David Lebo, Melissa Rotz, and Ellen Walker and staff members, Katie Battista, Maria Cruz, Marilyn Meissler, Emma Palluzzi, and Scotia Rambo.


TUSP welcomes participation from the academic and professional pharmacy communities. If you are interested in sponsoring this event, serving as a poster judge, or attending, please contact Katie Battista, Director of Alumni Relations, at bat@temple.edu.