Dr. Walker Receives Temple University Faculty Senate "Outstanding Faculty Service Award"









Ellen Walker, PhD, Chair and Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences has been named a 2020 "Outstanding Faculty Service Award" recipient by the Temple University Faculty Senate.

The Faculty Senate awards are among the highest honors given to teachers and scholars at the university. Awardees are nominated by current and former students and colleagues at Temple and other institutions.

Among her many contributions to the University spanning her 15 years of service, Dr. Walker has served as a representative on the Faculty Senate, the Provost's Academic Program Advisory Committee, the University Promotion and Tenure Committee, the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee, and numerous University leadership search committees.

Supporting the School of Pharmacy, Dr. Walker has served on the Research Facilities Subcommittee for ACPE accreditation, the Research Day and Awards Committee, the Merit Committee, the Professional Curriculum Committee, and the Promotion and Tenure Committee.

Dr. Walker also serves as the faculty advisor to the Neurology and Psychiatry Pharmacy Student Organization. Her leadership in this capacity is invaluable to the students as she shares her experience organizing conferences and symposiums for professional organizations, such as the Society for Neurosciences and the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics for over 15 years.

In Dr. Walker's nomination letter, a colleague stated:

I’ve presented a long list of the many ways that Dr. Walker has served the university and the community. What is not listed is the leadership that she brings to each place she serves. Her colleagues value her judgment, dedication, and experience.

Read the original Temple Now story