White Coat Ceremony Welcomes Class of 2019

The School of Pharmacy held its 2015 annual White Coat Ceremony in September and welcomed 149 students into the class of 2019 and into the profession of pharmacy.   At this solemn ceremony, the class received their white coats, school pins and recited the Oath of a Pharmacist for the first time in public.   

Alumnus Richard Pacitti ’82, ’95 delivered the keynote address, entitled “Welcome to Your Profession: From Classroom to Clinical Practice”  Dr. Pacitti was honored with the 2015 Distinguished Pharmacist Practitioner Award for his accomplishments within the pharmacy profession.  Michael Ferenz ’16, was awarded the 2015 Pharmacy Student Health Care Professional Award, for his leadership in academics and professional organizations.  Dr. Steve Pfeiffer ‘85, President, TUSP, Alumni Association, administered the Oath of the Pharmacist.  

Alumni and friends who served as cloakers, Judith Arnoff ‘68, Erin Bettine ‘83, Mel Brodsky ‘66, Erica Casella ‘08, Edward Casey ‘88, Randall Chapman  ‘73, Francine A. Farnsworth ‘00, Lew Gould ‘62, Harry Horn ’84, Allan Kaplan ’66, Larry Kraft ’79, Linda Kozitizky-Hand, Bruce Laporte ’79, George ’67 & Patricia McCormick ‘69, Edward McGinley ’77, Paul Mudrick ‘60, Gregory Papa ‘75, Sejal Patel ‘08, Frank A. Rubino, Sr. ’63, Frank R. Rubino ‘86, Gilbert Rudman ’68, and Mathew Slakoper ’81.  

A reception, sponsored by ACME/Savon, CVS, RiteAid Corporation, and the Philadelphia Association of Retail Druggists, followed the ceremony.   The School of Pharmacy Alumni Association gifted each incoming student with a reusable water bottle and Eric Esterbrook of The Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association presented each student with a bookmark.