Faculty Research

Department of Pharmaceutical Science

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Magid Abou-Gharbia, PhD, FRSC
Laura H. Carnell Professor of Medicinal Chemistry
215-707-4949
magid.abougharbia@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Synthesis
• Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry
• Drug Discovery
• Drug Design

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Carlos Barrero, MD
Assistant Professor
215-707-9229
carlos.barrero@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Proteomics
• Metabolomics
• Diabetes
• COPD
• HIV

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Benjamin E. Blass, PhD
Assistant Professor 
215-707-1085
benjamin.blass@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Medicinal Chemistry
• Drug Discovery
• Drug Design

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Michael Borenstein, PhD
Senior Associate Dean for Operations
215-707-2976
michael.borenstein@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Method Development
• Pharmacokinetics
• Sample Preparation
• Chromatography
• Liquid Chromatography
• Mass Spectrometry
• Analytical Method Development
• High-Performance Liquid Chromatography
• Chromatographic Method Development
• Analytical Chemistry Instrumentation

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Daniel Canney, PhD
Interim Director, Moulder Center for Drug Discovery Research
Associate Professor, Medicinal Chemistry
215-707-6924
daniel.canney@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Organic Synthesis
• Structure-Activity Relationship Studies
• Medicinal Chemistry
• Neurotransmitter
• Neurobiology
• Receptors

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wayne Childers, PhD
Associate Professor
Associate Director, Moulder Center for Drug Discovery Research

215-707-1079
wayne.childers@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Drug Discovery
• Medicinal Chemistry
• Organic Synthesis
• Synthetic Organic Chemistry
• Drug Design

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Peter Doukas, PhD
Professor
215-707-4990
peter.doukas@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reza Fassihi, PhD
Professor
215-707-7670
reza.fassihi@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Design, development, evaluation (in-vitro and in-vivo), optimization and scale-up operations of oral dosage forms,osmotic pumps, tampered resistant systems, controlled and modified release drug delivery(CR), dispersed systems, topical products, gels, parenteral and advanced delivery systems

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Marc Ilies, PhD
Professor
215-707-1749
marc.ilies@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Medicinal Chemistry
• Material Sciences
• Pharmaceutics

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kenneth Korzekwa, PhD
Professor
215-707-7892
kenneth.korzekwa@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Medicinal Chemistry
• Pharmacology
• Drug Metabolism
• Pharmacokinetics

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

David Lebo, PhD, RPh
Professor
Director of CGMP Services
215-707-5895
david.lebo@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Technology
• Drug Formulation Development
• Dosage Form Development
• Pharmaceutical Formulation
• Pharmaceutics
• Pharmaceutical Research and Development
• Dissolution
• Solubility
• Encapsulation
• Pharmaceutical Industry

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Salim Merali, PhD
Associate Dean for Research
Professor
215-707-9228
salim.merali@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Cell Culture
• Cloning
• Mouse Breeding
• Apoptosis
• Liquid Chromatography
• Metabolomics
• Pulmonology
• Proteins
• Infectious Diseases
• Pharmacy

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Swati Nagar, PhD
Professor
Director, Graduate Studies
215-707-9110
swati.nagar@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Pharmacology
• Pharmacokinetics
• Drug Metabolism

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dean
Professor of Pharmaceutics

Research Interests
• Cancer
• Chemotherapy
• Chlamydial infection
• Drug Delivery
• Nanotechnology

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oscar Perez-Leal, PhD
Assistant Professor
215-707-9229
oscar.perez@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Cloning
• PCR
• Yeast and Mammalian cells
• RNA-Protein Interaction Studies
• Protein-Protein Interaction
• Protein Identification by Mass Spectrometry
• Plasmodium
• Molecular Biology
• CRISPR
• Biosensors

Publications

 

Mario Rico
Research Assistant Professor
215-707-9229
marior@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Growth Factors
• RAS
• Inflammation
• Osteoblasts
• Small Animal Procedures
• Drug Development
• Animal Surgery
• Small Animal Surgery
• Oral Gavage
• 4Hydroxynonenol

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ellen Walker, PhD
Chair
Professor
215-707-6770
ellen.walker@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Pharmacology
• Neurology
• Psychology
• Chemical Dependency

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ho Lun Wong, PhD, BScPharm
Associate Professor
215-707-8173
ho-lun.wong@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Nanotechnology

Publications

 

Joanne Xue, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
215-707-8173
joannex@temple.edu

Research Interests
• Nanotechnology

Publications