About the Dean

Peter Doukas was born and raised in Brooklyn, the son of Greek immigrants. He graduated Erasmus Hall High School and then attended St. John’s University, where he received his B.S. in Pharmacy in 1963. After two years in an M.S. program at St. John’s, he entered the doctoral program at Temple University School of Pharmacy, receiving his Ph.D. in medicinal chemistry in 1970. Thereafter he was appointed to the Temple faculty as an Assistant Professor and, with the support of Dean Alfred N. Martin, undertook post-doctoral studies at the Forschungsinstitut Borstel, West Germany, under the direction of Dr. J.K. Seydel, and at the Pharmacology Institute of the University of Nijmegen, the Netherlands, under the direction of Dr. E.J. Ariens.

Upon his return to Temple in the fall of 1971, he assumed teaching duties in medicinal chemistry and pharmacology, and began a medicinal synthesis research program. In 1977 he received the Lindback Award for Outstanding Teaching. In the 1980s Dr. Doukas began research collaborations with colleagues in the Department of Pharmacology of the School of Medicine, designing and synthesizing compounds affecting the disposition of acetylcholine in nerve endings, anti-convulsants, and inhibitors of platelet aggregation. In 1990 he was appointed Acting Dean of the School of Pharmacy and Dean in 1993. In 1997 he was also appointed Acting Dean of the College of Allied Health Professions.

During his tenure as Dean of the Pharmacy School, the graduate program was restructured, the faculty was replenished and strengthened, the professional curriculum transitioned to the entry-level Doctor of Pharmacy degree, the M.S. program in Quality Assurance/Regulatory Affairs became the largest of its type in the nation, development activities were expanded considerably, and the physical plant was transformed.

Board of Visitors

Mr. John Braithwaite, Chair
Mr. Ron Clerico
Dr. Michael Cohen
Mr. Ronald B. Earle
Mr. Louis Michael Gatto
Mr. Grady Grant III
Dr. Allan S. Kaplan
Dr. Calvin Knowlton
Mr. David Kwasny
Mr. Lonnie Moulder
Mr. Michael H. Renzulli
Ms. Edith A. Rosato
Dr. Joseph S. Turi
Dr. Stuart A. Wesbury, Jr.
Mr. William B. Wiederseim
Dr. Gerald J. Yakatan