Department of Pharmacy Practice

Message from the Chair

As the new chair of Temple University’s Department of Pharmacy Practice, I have been extremely impressed by the warm welcome I have received from across this great campus community, the quality and diversity of our faculty and student bodies, and the commitment to excellence in higher education. 

My goals in this position are to continue the 120-years-long legacy of supporting new pharmacy professionals that will serve the next generation of healthcare and to foster partnerships that enhance the educational experience for our students. Through innovations in teaching, clinical care, scholarship, and community service, our Pharmacy Practice team will continue to set ever-higher standards expected of a Temple Made professional.

Our faculty, students, and alumni have answered the call during the COVID-19 pandemic by treating and vaccinating patients within our communities, providing infection-control supplies, and publicly sharing their expertise. Our commitment to our communities is second to none, and our team will maintain the highest levels of professional and ethical standards. I will advocate and support our team in an abundance of potential initiatives focused on higher education and clinical care.

I have no doubt that the best years are ahead of us and that we will continue to strive for excellence in every aspect of what it takes to be a pharmacy professional. I am looking forward to facing challenges head on and to the opportunity to be a part of our brilliant future. No matter why you have come here, I thank you for the privilege and opportunity to serve you as as an ambassador of the Temple University School of Pharmacy, 

Mike 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Michael J. Cawley, PharmD, RRT, CPFT, FCCM
Chair & Clinical Professor
215-707-0089
michael.cawley0001@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Ventilation
• Pharmacotherapeutics
• Mechanical Ventilation
• Critical Care Medicine
• Intensive Care Medicine
• Airway Management
• Spirometry testing
• Respiration Disorders
• Respiratory Mechanics
• Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease

Publications

 

Divisions of Pharmacy Practice

Doctor of Pharmacy Program
Pharmacy Practice Residency Programs
 

Pharmacy Practice Faculty

Michael Barros, PharmD, BCPS, BCACP, BC-ADM, CDE
Clinical Associate Professor
University Coordinator, ACME Sav-On
Pharmacies/Temple University PGY1
Community Pharmacy Residency
215-707-3987
michael.barros@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Ambulatory Care
• Cardiac Risk Reduction
• Heart Failure
• Diabetes
• Transitions of Care
• Pharmacy Education

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lisa Becker, RPh
Director of the Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience (APPE)
Office of Experiential Education
Adjunct Clinical Faculty
215-707-9379
lisa.becker@temple.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Neela Bhajandas, PharmD
Clinical Associate Professor
215-707-6840
neela.bhajandas@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Emergency Medicine
• Critical Care
• Transitions of Care

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ina Calligaro, PharmD
Senior Associate Dean for Professional Programs
Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
215-707-4967
ina.lee.calligaro@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Pediatrics
• Curricular Assessment
• Faculty Development
• Learning Skills

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lawrence P. Carey, PharmD, BSPharm
Assistant Dean for Assessment & Quality
Clinical Professor
215-707-5711
careyl@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Internal Medicine
• Nutrition Support
• Home Infusion Therapy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Marissa Cavaretta, PharmD, BCPS, BCACP
Clinical Associate Professor
Director, PGY2 Internal Medicine Residency
215-707-0795
marissa.cavaretta@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Internal Medicine
• Geriatrics
• Transitions of Care

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mark Cinquegrani, PharmD
Clinical Assistant Professor
mark.cinquegrani@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Ambulatory Care
• Antiretrovirals
• HIV
• Hepatitis C Virus
• CBD

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Justina Frimpong, PharmD, BCOP
Clinical Assistant Professor
215-707-5755
justina.frimpong@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Hematology-Oncology (oral antineoplastic therapy education and toxicity management/related supportive care)
• Oncology-related Medication Safety

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jason Gallagher, PharmD, FCCP, FIDP, FIDSA, BCPS
Clinical Professor
Director, PGY2 Residency in Infectious Diseases Pharmacy
215-707-2573
jason.gallagher@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Infectious Disease
• Microbiology
• Antibiotics
• Clinical Trials
• Antimicrobials
• Antibiotic Resistance
• Bacterial Antibiotic Resistance
• Antimicrobial Resistance
• Antibacterials
• Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing
• Minimum Inhibitory Concentration

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Van Hellerslia, PharmD, BCPS, CACP
Clinical Associate Professor
215-707-1290
van.hellerslia@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Neurocritical Care
• Thrombosis and Hemostasis
• Stroke
• Epilepsy
• Multiple Sclerosis 

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Michael Mancano, PharmD, BSPharm
Assistant Dean for Operations
Clinical Professor
215-707-4936
michael.mancano@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Adverse Drug Reactions

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Patrick McDonnell, PharmD, FASHP
Clinical Professor
215-707-1289
patrick.mcdonnell@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Internal Medicine
• Adverse Drug Reactions
• Medication Safety

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Margaret Miklich, PharmD, BCACP
Clinical Assistant Professor
215-707-5098
margaret.miklich@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Medication Safety
• Pharmacy Practice
• Pharmacy Education

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nima Patel-Shori, PharmD, BCACP
Clinical Professor
Director, PGY2 Ambulatory Care Residency
215-707-2319
nima.m.patel@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Ambulatory Care
• Internal Medicine
• Cardiology
• Women's Health
• Essential Hypertension
• Hyperlipidemias
Stroke

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Talitha Pulvino, PharmD, BCPS
Clinical Associate Professor
215-707-2962
talitha.pulvino@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Pharmacotherapy
• Pharmacogenomics
• Drug Metabolism
• Medication Adherence

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Melissa Potts, PharmD
Clinical Associate Professor
215-707-2142
melissa.ranieri@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Internal Medicine

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Natalie Rodriguez, PharmD
Clinical Assistant Professor
natalie.rodriguez0002@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Adverse Childhood Events and Medication Use
• Internal Medicine
• Ambulatory Care
• Community Pharmacy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Susan Romann, PharmD, CGP
Clinical Associate Professor
215-707-2143
susan.kent@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Geriatrics
• Ambulatory Care

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Christina Rose, PharmD, BCPS
Clinical Professor
Director of the PGY2 Critical Care Residency
215-707-8057
christina.rose@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Critical Care Pharmacotherapy
• Clinical Pharmacokinetics
• Intensive Care
• Pharmacy Education

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Melissa E. Rotz, PharmD, BCPS
Clinical Associate Professor
215-707-4943
melissa.rotz@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Glucagon-Like Peptide 1
• Lipids
• Heart Failure
• Interprofessional Education

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Charles Ruchalski, PharmD, BCPS
Clinical Professor
215-707-1292
charles.ruchalski@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Stroke
• Diabetes
• Critical Care
• Ambulatory Care
• Medical Missions

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nicole Sifontis, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS
Clinical Professor
215-707-4922
nicole.sifontis@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Cardiology
• Solid Organ Transplant
• Public Health
• Medical Missions

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Divita Singh, PharmD, BCPS
Clinical Assistant Professor
divita.singh@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Internal Medicine
• Pharmacogenomics
• Drug Information

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tina N. Tran, PharmD
Assistant Professor 
tran.nk.tina@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Global Health
• Public Health
• Supply Chain
• Health Outcomes

Publications

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leigh Godfrey Webber, RPh
Director, Introductory Pharmacy Practice Experiences (IPPE)
Office of Experiential Education
Adjunct Clinical Faculty
215-707-9378
leigh.webber@temple.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Craig Whitman, PharmD, BCPS
Associate Chair & Clinical Professor
215-707-6821
craig.whitman@temple.edu

Areas of Interest
• Critical Care

Publications

 

Staff

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Haley Ashby
Student Services Coordinator
215-707-4007
haley.ashby@temple.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Delores V. Banks
Administrative Assistant
Office of Experiential Education
215-707-4934
delores.banks@temple.edu 

 

Nadine Calhoun
Admissions Secretary
215-707-4247
calhounn@temple.edu

 

Maria Cruz
Administrative Assistant
Office of the Dean & Department of Pharmacy Practice
215-707-7886
mcruz@temple.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Andrea Giachino
Student Services Coordinator
215-707-4591
andrea.giachino@temple.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Joan Hankins, BBA
Director of Admissions
215-707-4900
joan.hankins@temple.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lai Ara Powell, MEd
Admissions Recruiter
laiara.powell@temple.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scotia Rambo
Administrative Specialist
Department of Pharmacy Practice & Experiential Education
215-707-4992
tuk48692@temple.edu